Skip to content
August 27, 2010 / carmenklassen

Exploring My Life

What should I do next?

I’m trying to decide what to do in the fall. (By “the fall” I mean September. Which starts next week. So really this is just about trying to decide what to do next week.) The end of summer heralds the start of a new school year (which is still how I think of autumn even though my school days are far behind me). Every year around this time I get the itch. The desire to enroll in something. Take a class. Learn something new. Join the gym. And most years I think and think and think about it, until everything has started and look, now it’s too late. Oh well. Maybe next year.

This year is different. This year I made a list of everything I want to do. It’s a long list, and I can’t possibly do everything right now, so I’m in the process of prioritizing. The first (and most time-consuming) option is a tax class that I’ve enrolled in.

Yes, that’s right. I’ve already enrolled. I’m committed.

(When I started this blog, I promised myself that I would only write about what I’m currently doing and have done. Not what I hope to do in the future, because how often do plans change and intentions fail to become reality? If you’re anything like me, a lot.)

So then. Tax prep. Woo! It doesn’t sound like the most exciting option on the list, but I’m actually looking forward to it. I took the class about 13 years ago and did well, but never pursued a job in the field. This time around I’m hoping it will open the door to a little additional income.

Opening Doors

I’m not absolutely sure if this is the direction I should take, but my goal for the next few months is to open doors. To try new things, put myself in unfamiliar situations and see what works and what doesn’t. So I’ll start with this class. If I feel I can handle something else, then I’ll consult the list and add in another activity. Most likely a volunteer opportunity.

Whatever I choose to do next, my goal is to learn. To develop new skills. To meet new people. To make a positive contribution in my community. I’m going to put myself out there and see what opportunities come my way. I’ve found that if I am open and ready and willing, opportunities abound.

So I’ll start with a tax class, and who knows where I’ll end up.

Leave a comment